PhD Graduates

Promotion of young talents to professors

Amongst my many PhD and Post-Doc students, these were promoted to professors in highly reputed universities:

  • Sebastian Proksch, TU Delft, Netherlands
  • Jürgen Cito, TU Wien, Austria
  • Philipp Leitner, Chalmers Univ, Sweden
  • Martin Pinzger, Univ Klagenfurt, Austria (former: TU Delft, Netherlands)
  • Michele Lanza, USI, Switzerland

Principal PhD Thesis Advisor

I've had the privilege of supervising the following PhD graduates:

2021 (exp.) Christoph Laaber Working title: Performance Engineering with Software Benchmarks 
2021 (exp.) Adelina Ciurumelea

Working title: Learning the Naturalness of Source Code Comments for Better Code Documentation

2021 (exp.) Giovanni Grano Working title: Test Case Effectiveness in Automated Testing
2020 Carmine Vassallo

Principle-Driven Continuous Integration: Simplifying Failure Discovery and Raising Anti-Pattern Awareness

2020 Carol Alexandru Efficient Software Evolution Analysis
2019 Gerald Schermann Continuous Experimentation for Software Developers
2018 Jürgen Cito Software Runtime Analytics for Developers
2012 Giacomo Ghezzi SOFAS, Software Analysis as a Service: Improving and Rethinking Software Evolution Analysis
2012 Michael Würsch Hawkshaw: A Query Framework for Software Evolution Data
2012 Emanuel Giger Fine-grained Code Changes and Bugs: Improving Software Defect Prediction
2012 Amancio Bouza Hypothesis-Based Collaborative Filtering: Retrieving Like-Minded Individuals Based on the Comparison of Hypothesized Preferences
2012 Matthias Hert OntoAccess: RDF-based Read and Write Access to Relational Databases
2012 Sandro Boccuzzo Sensing Software Evolution: Software Exploration with Audio-Tactile Cognitive Visualization
2009 Ksenia Wahler A Framework for Integrated Process and Object Life Cycle Modeling
2008 Beat Fluri Change Distilling: Enriching Software Evolution Analysis with Fine-Grained Source Code Change Histories
2007 Jacek Ratzinger sPACE – Software Process Assessment in the Course of Evolution
2006 Michael Fischer EvoZilla - Longitudinal Evolution Analysis of Large Scale Software Systems
2005 Martin Pinzger ArchView - Analyzing Evolutionary Aspects of Complex Software Systems
2005 Gerald Reif


PhD Co-Advisor / Co-Examiner

I've been co-advisor and/or co-examiner for:

2019 André Meyer, University of Zurich, Switzerland
2018 Christoph Hochreiner, TU Vienna, Austria
2018 Christian Macho, University Klagenfurt, Austria
2017 Katja Kevic, University of Zurich, Switzerland
2016 Sebastian Müller, University of Zurich, Switzerland
2016 Veronika Bauer, TU Munich, Germany
2016 Muhammad Zuhri Catur Candra, TU Vienna, Austria
2013 Ahmed Lamkanfi, University of Antwerp, Belgium
2013 Janne Kuuskeri, Tampere University of Technology, Finland
2013 Kim Herzig, Saarland University, Germany
2013 Erik Wende, University of Zurich, Switzerland
2012 Reinhard Stoiber, University of Zurich, Switzerland
2012 Marco Piccioni, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
2012 Adam Vanya, Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam, Netherlands
2011 Ronan Fox, National University of Ireland, Galway
2011 Jan Simon Rellermeyer, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
2011 Adrian Kuhn, University Bern, Switzerland
2011 Jayalath Ekanayake, University of Zurich, Switzerland
2010 Cathal Boogerd, TU Delft, Netherlands
2010 Adrian Bachmann, University of Zurich, Switzerland
2010 Marco D'Ambros, University Lugano, Switzerland
2010 David Röthlisberger, University of Berne, Switzerland
2010 Tobias Reinhard, University of Zurich, Switzerland
2009 Christoph Dorn, TU Vienna, Austria
2009 Silvio Meier, University of Zurich, Switzerland
2009 Tsuyoshi Ito, University of Zurich, Switzerland
2008 Thomas Zimmermann, Saarland University, Germany
2008 Christoph Kiefer, University of Zurich, Switzerland
2007 Filip van Rysselberghe, University of Antwerp, Belgium
2007 Patrick Ziegler, University of Zurich, Switzerland
2006 Risto Pitkänen, Tampere University, Finland
2006 Alexander Pöffel, University of Zurich, Switzerland
2006 Christian Seybold, University of Zurich, Switzerland
2005 Tudor Girba, University of Bern, Switzerland
2005 Michael Kirchhof, RWTH Aachen, Germany
2005 Nerina Bermudo Pla, TU Vienna, Austria
2003 Pascal Fenkam, TU Vienna, Austria
1998 Johannes Weidl-Rektenwald, TU Vienna, Austria