Master of Science (MSc) in Informatics

The Master program is composed of

  • Master's Basic Module in the selected specialization
  • Master's Project (group work)
  • various modules specific for your specialization
  • Master's dissertation

In the Master program you deepen the knowledge you gained on the Bachelor level.

Choose your preferred specialization to tailor your education to your individual interests and needs.

We offer five different programs (click to expand)

Information Systems

Major 90 ECTS credits + Minor 30 ECTS credits

Information Systems combines methods from the spheres of both informatics and business administration, allowing you to take a holistic, comprehensive approach toward solving the problems that companies face. You learn to analyze non-standard problems and to actively shape complex information flows in companies. You understand how to creatively develop information systems and applications.

Software Systems

Major 90 ECTS Credits + Minor 30 ECTS Credits

Software Systems focuses on the software development aspects of informatics, centering around systematic and economic criteria. You learn how to independently develop ambitious apps and highly complex systems.

  • More information
  • Career prospects: Advanced leadership in the area of software development.

People-Oriented Computing

Major 90 ECTS Credits + Minor 30 ECTS Credits

People-oriented Computing deals with the human-centered design of information technology. User-friendliness, security, and cultural and ethical aspects are of core importance. You create interactive systems and visualize information.

Computing and Economics

Major 90 ECTS Credits + Minor 30 ECTS Credits

Computing and Economics (Informatik und Ökonomik) focuses on the analysis and the design of electronic markets, social networks, and online platforms. You learn to creatively balance the information flow between providers and users. You independently design efficient online auctions and develop solutions to prevent manipulations.

Data Science

Major 90 ECTS Credits + Minor 30 ECTS Credits

Data Science provides a future-proof education. Big Data is one of the great challenges in our data-driven economy and society. You learn to analyze large data sets, recognize patterns, show correlations, and prepare results in a professional, interactive manner. Thus you lay the foundations for strategic and operative decisions.

Structure

In your Major study program you earn 90 ECTS credits, which includes 30 ECTS credits for the MSc Thesis. The MSc Thesis is the culmination of your studies.
You can freely select the Minor study program to complement your Major in Informatics. In the Minor study program you earn 30 ECTS credits.

The 2nd and 3rd semester of your MSc program is especially suitable for an exchange semester. Upon agreement by the supervising professor it is even possible to write your MSc Thesis abroad.

The Master's program is structures such that it can be completed within two years of full-time studying. It is in principle possible to study part-time while working up to 20%. We recommend against studying part-time while working 50% during the lecture period.
The Master's program has to be completed within 5 years.

Background knowledge

We expect a university BSc degree with focus on Informatics. People who had finished their first studies several years ago are also welcome. Good English skills are important, as most courses on the Master's level are offered in English, only some are held in German. Part of the literature is available only in English.

On the Master's level you have a lot of freedom, so you need good self-management skills to organize your individual study path.

After studying

With a Master of Science in Informatics you receive an advanced scientific education. You gain autonomous, scientific, and project-oriented working skills. With an MSc in Informatics you have excellent job opportunities and can take over leading positions. In addition you are qualified to begin a PhD.

Level up!

Masterstudium in Informatik

Das Wissen, das Sie in Ihrem Bachelorstudium erworben haben, vertiefen Sie im Masterstudium:

  • Master-Basismodul in der gewählten Studienrichtung
  • Master-Projektarbeit (Gruppenprojekt für zwei bis vier Studierende)
  • diverse Fachlehrveranstaltungen
  • Masterarbeit


Wählen Sie Ihren bevorzugten Schwerpunkt. So geben Sie Ihrer Ausbildung ein ganz individuelles Profil.

Wir bieten fünf verschiedene Schwerpunkte:

Information Systems (Wirtschaftsinformatik) verbindet Methoden aus der Informatik und aus der Betriebswirtschaftslehre. Ziel ist es, Probleme von Unternehmen ganzheitlich zu lösen. Sie lernen, komplexe Informationsbedürfnisse in Unternehmen aktiv mitzugestalten. Sie verstehen es, Informationssysteme und Anwendungen auf kreative Weise zu entwicklen.

Software Systems (Softwaresysteme) fokussiert auf die Entwicklung von softwarebasierten Systemen. Im Zentrum stehen dabei systematische und wirtschaftliche Kriterien. Sie entwickeln selbstständig ambitiöse Apps und  hochkomplexe Systeme.

People-Oriented Computing (Mensch und Computer) beschäftigt sich mit der menschenzentrierten Gestaltung von Technologien. Benutzerfreundlichkeit, Sicherheit sowie kulturelle und ethische Aspekte spielen dabei eine wichtige Rolle. Sie gestalten auf kreative Weise interaktive Systeme und entwickeln selbstständig die Visualisierung von Informationen.

Computing and Economics (Informatik und Ökonomik) fokussiert auf Analyse und Design von elektronischen Märkten, sozialen Netzwerken und Online-Plattformen. Sie lernen, die Informationen zwischen Anbieter und Nutzer kreativ zu balancieren. Sie gestalten selbstständig effiziente Online-Auktionen und entwickeln Lösungen, um Manipulationen zu verhindern.

Data Science bietet eine Ausbildung mit viel Zukunftspotenzial. Big Data gehört zu den Herausforderungen unserer datengetriebenen Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft. Sie lernen, grosse Datenmengen selbstständig zu analysieren, Muster zu erkennen, Zusammenhänge professionell aufzuzeigen sowie Resultate interaktiv aufzubereiten. Sie schaffen so Grundlagen für strategische und operative Entscheidungen.

Nebenfach Informatik

Als Nebenfach ist Informatik die ideale Ergänzung für Studierende aller Fachrichtungen. Und es bietet gute Voraussetzungen für den Einstieg in den Arbeitsmarkt.

Auf der Masterstufe werden je nach Hauptfach (Fakultät) Data Science, Informatics, Information Systems oder People-oriented Computing als Nebenfach angeboten.

Struktur des Studiums

Im Hauptfachstudienprogramm erwerben Sie 90 ECTS Credits, inklusive 30 ECTS Credits für die Masterarbeit. Die Masterarbeit bildet den Abschluss Ihres Studiums.
Ihr Nebenfach zum Hauptfach Informatik wählen Sie frei aus. Im Nebenfach erwerben Sie 30 ECTS Credits.

Das 2. Semester und 3. Semester im Masterstudium eignet sich für ein Auslandsemester besonders gut. Nach Absprache mit dem betreuenden Professor ist es auch möglich, die Masterarbeit im Ausland zu schreiben.

Das Masterstudium ist so strukturiert, dass es als Vollzeitstudium in 2 Jahren absolviert werden kann. Ein Teilzeitstudium ist grundsätzlich möglich bei einem Beschäftigungsgrad von 20 Prozent. Ein Teilzeitstudium mit einem Beschäftigungsgrad von 50 Prozent während der Vorlesungszeit empfehlen wir nicht. 

Das Masterstudium ist in maximal 5 Jahren abzuschliessen.

Modulkatalog aller IFI-Mastermodule (PDF, 65 KB)

Vorkenntnisse fürs Studium

Wir erwarten einen universitären Bachelorabschluss mit Informatikfokus. Es sind auch Personen willkommen, die ihr Erststudium vor einigen Jahren abgeschlossen haben. Gute Englischkenntnisse sind wichtig. Die meisten Lehrangebote auf Masterstufe werden in Englisch gehalten, einige in Deutsch. Ein Teil der Fachliteratur steht ausschliesslich auf Englisch zur Verfügung. 

Das Masterstudium lässt Ihnen viele Freiräume. Und mit einem guten Selbstmanagement haben Sie die Möglichkeit, Ihren Studiengang individuell zu gestalten. 

Nach dem Studium

Mit dem Masterstudium erhalten Sie eine fortgeschrittene wissenschaftliche Ausbildung. Sie verfügen über die Kompetenzen in selbstständigem, wissenschaftlichem und projektorientierten Arbeiten. Informatikerinnen und Informatiker mit Masterabschluss haben interessante Berufsaussichten auf anspruchsvolle Leitungsfunktionen. Zusätzlich sind Sie qualifiziert für ein Doktoratsstudium.