Bachelor of Science (BSc) in Informatics

The Bachelor's study program consists of the Assessment Level (2 semesters) followed by the Advanced Level (4 semesters).

In the Assessment Level, students gain basic knowledge in Informatics, Economics, Mathematics, and Statistics. The Advanced Level consists of modules from Informatics, Economics, and the chosen specialization. In the mandatory classes students acquire the foundations of scientific work.

Choose your preferred specialization to tailor your education to your individual interests and needs.

We offer five different specializations (click to expand)

Information Systems

Major 150 ECTS Credits + Minor 30 ECTS Credits
Compulsory, core elective, and elective modules mandatory in Information Systems and Business Administration

Information Systems combines methods from computer science and business administration with the aim to solve problems of enterprises in a wholistic manner. You learn to analyze problems and information needs in companies. You can develop and deploy the suitable information systems and applications.

  • Job opportunities in IT consulting and IT management

Software Systems

Major 150 ECTS Credits + Minor 30 ECTS Credits
Compulsory, core elective, and elective modules mandatory in software related IT topics

Software Systems deals with the development of entire systems, taking into account systematic and economic criteria. You learn how to realize systems like Apps, web applications, and database management systems.

  • Job opportunities in the area of Software Development

People-Oriented Computing

Major 150 ECTS Credits + Minor 30 ECTS Credits
Compulsory, core elective, and elective modules mandatory in human-centered topics

People-Oriented Computing deals with the human-centered design of information technology. User-friendliness, security, and cultural and ethical aspects are of core importance. You create interactive systems and visualize information.

  • Job opportunities in areas such as Human Computer Interaction, Game Development, Visualization and Animation

Computing and Economics

Major 150 ECTS Credits + Minor 30 ECTS Credits
Compulsory, core elective, and elective modules mandatory in Informatics and Micro Economics

Computing and Economics has its focus on the analysis of electronic markets, social networks, and other online platforms. You learn how information flows are balanced between providers and users. You know how to efficiently design online auctions and how to prevent manipulations.

  • Job opportunities in designing Internet platforms such as online advertising or auctions

Informatics with Natural Sciences

Major 120 ECTS Credits + Minor 60 ECTS Credits

Informatics with Natural Sciences offers an interdisciplinary education. You gain specific knowledge in Biology, Geography, or Mathematics and learn how to solve scientific research questions using IT systems. You know how to map problems from natural sciences to information technology.

  • Job opportunities in the areas of data analysis and IT management with a focus on natural science

Structure

In the assessment level you earn 60 ECTS credits. In the advanced level you earn 90 ECTS crecits, which includes 18 ECTS credits for the Bachelor thesis. This thesis is the culmination of your studies.

You freely choose your minor study of 30 ECTS credits.

The Bachelor study is structured such that it can be completed within three years by studying full time.

We do not recommend part-time studying during the assessment level. On the advanced level it is in principle possible to study part time; however, your study workload must not drop below 30 ECTS credits per year.

The assessment level has to be completed within a maximum of 2 years, the advanced level has to be completed within a maximum of 5 years.

Background knowledge for studying

Good English skills are important. Even though many modules on the Bachelor level are held in German, some are offered exclusively in English. A large part of the required reading materials are only available in English.

No prior knowlege in programming is necessary for the Informatics modules: You will learn programming during your Bachelor studies.

After studying

Completing your studies in Informatics on the Bachelor level provides you with a broad, interdisciplinary, and methodologically sound basic education. It is your first step into the professional world. With a BSc in Informatics you are already much sought-after on the job market. In addition, you qualify for continuing studies on the Master level.

Bachelor of Science (BSc) in Informatik

Das Bachelorstudium besteht aus einer 2-semestrigen Assessmentstufe und einer 4-semestrigen Aufbaustufe.
Die Assessmentstufe vermittelt Grundkenntnisse in Informatik, Ökonomie, Mathematik und Statistik. Die Aufbaustufe umfasst Veranstaltungen der Informatik, der Wirtschaft und des gewählten Schwerpunktes. Und im vorgeschriebenen Pflichtprogramm lernen Sie Grundlagen des wissenschaftlichen Arbeitens. 

 

Wählen Sie Ihren bevorzugten Schwerpunkt. So geben Sie Ihrer Ausbildung ein ganz individuelles Profil.

Wir bieten fünf verschiedene Schwerpunkte:

Wirtschaftsinformatik

Hauptfach 150 ECTS Credits + Nebenfach 30 ECTS Credits
Pflicht-, Wahlpflicht- und Wahlmodule obligatorisch in Wirtschaftsinformatik und Betriebswirtschaftslehre

Wirtschaftsinformatik verbindet Methoden aus der Informatik und aus der Betriebswirtschaftslehre. Ziel ist es, Probleme von Unternehmen ganzheitlich zu lösen. Sie lernen, Probleme und Informationsbedürfnisse in Unternehmen zu analysieren. Sie können für Unternehmen passende Informationssysteme und Anwendungen entwickeln und einsetzen.

Softwaresysteme

Hauptfach 150 ECTS Credits + Nebenfach 30 ECTS Credits
Pflicht-, Wahlpflicht- und Wahlmodule obligatorisch in softwarebezogenen Informatikthemen

Softwaresysteme beschäftigt sich mit der Entwicklung von softwarebasierten Systemen. Im Zentrum steht dabei die Berücksichtigung von systematischen und wirtschaftlichen Kriterien. Sie lernen eigene Systeme zu realisieren wie einfache Apps, Webanwendungen und Datenverwaltungssysteme.

Mensch und Computer

Hauptfach 150 ECTS Credits + Nebenfach 30 ECTS Credits
Pflicht-, Wahlpflicht- und Wahlmodule obligatorisch in menschenzentrierten Informatikthemen

Mensch und Computer beschäftigt sich mit der menschenzentrierten Gestaltung von Technologien. Benutzerfreundlichkeit, Sicherheit sowie kulturelle und ethische Aspekte spielen dabei eine wichtige Rolle. Sie gestalten interaktive Systeme und visualisieren Informationen.

Informatik und Ökonomik

Hauptfach 150 ECTS Credits + Nebenfach 30 ECTS Credits
Pflicht-, Wahlpflicht- und Wahlmodule obligatorisch in Informatik und Mikroökonomie

Informatik und Ökonomik fokussiert auf Analyse und Design von elektronischen Märkten, sozialen Netzwerken und Online-Plattformen. Sie lernen, wie die Informationen zwischen Anbieter und Nutzer balanciert werden. Sie wissen, wie man effiziente Online-Auktionen gestaltet und Manipulationen verhindert.

Informatik und Naturwissenschaften

Hauptfach 120 ECTS Credits + Nebenfach 60 ECTS Credits

Informatik und Naturwissenschaften bietet eine interdisziplinäre Ausbildung. Sie erwerben eine solide Basis in der Informatik. Zusätzlich sammeln Sie spezifisches naturwissenschaftliches Wissen in Biologie, Geographie oder Mathematik. Sie lernen, naturwissenschaftliche Fragestellungen mit Informationssystemen zur lösen. Sie wissen, wie Sie naturwissenschaftliche Prozesse abbilden.

  • Detailinformationen auf der Website der Wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Fakultät
  • Berufschancen im Bereich Datenanalyse und IT-Management mit naturwissenschaftlichem Fokus

Struktur des Studiums

In der Assessmentstufe erwerben Sie 60 ECTS Credits. In der Aufbaustufe erwerben Sie 90 ECTS Credits, inklusive 18 ECTS Credits für die Bachelorarbeit. Die Bachelorarbeit bildet den Abschluss Ihres Studiums.
Ihr Nebenfach zum Hauptfach Informatik wählen Sie frei aus. Im Nebenfach erwerben Sie 30 ECTS Credits. 

Das Bachelorstudium ist so strukturiert, dass es als Vollzeitstudium in drei Jahren absolviert werden kann.
Ein Teilzeitstudium während der Assessmentstufe empfehlen wir nicht. Ein Teilzeitstudium während der Aufbaustufe ist grundsätzlich möglich. Das Pensum sollte jedoch mindestens 30 ECTS Credits pro Jahr umfassen. 
Die Assessmentstufe ist in maximal 2 Jahren abzuschliessen. Die Aufbaustufe ist in maximal 5 Jahren abzuschliessen.

Vorkenntnissse fürs Studium

Gute Englischkenntnisse sind wichtig. Viele Lehrangebote auf der Bachelorstufe werden in Deutsch gehalten, einige in Englisch. Ein Teil der Fachliteratur steht ausschliesslich auf Englisch zur Verfügung. Programmierkenntnisse setzen wir für die Informatik-Fächer nicht voraus.

Nach dem Studium

Mit dem Bachelorstudium erhalten Sie eine breite, fächerübergreifende und methodisch fundierte Grundausbildung. Sie ist Ihr erster Schritt in die Berufs- und Forschungswelt. Informatikerinnen und Informatiker sind bereits ab Bachelorabschluss auf dem Arbeitsmarkt sehr gefragt. Zusätzlich sind Sie qualifiziert für ein vertieftes Studium auf Masterstufe.