Research Seminar Spring 2016

Each week, we hold a research seminar where speakers present work on topics at the intersection of Computer Science and Economics. Some of the presentations may be work in progress, while others may be presentations on papers that are already published. Everyone is welcome to attend! No registration necessary.

Logistics

  • Room: BIN 1.D.07; starting 15.08.: BIN 1.E.01 (can vary; see schedule)
  • Time: Mondays 16:00-17:30 (see schedule)
  • Organizer: Steffen Schuldenzucker

Mailing List

If you would like to be informed about upcoming talks in this seminar and about other talks on topics related to Economics and Computer Science, then please send an email to Steffen Schuldenzucker, who will add you to our mailing list.

Schedule

Date Room Speaker Title
Mon, 11.01.2016 BIN 1.A.10 Steffen Schuldenzucker Consistency of Bank Defaults in Financial Networks with Credit Default Swaps
Mon, 25.01.2016 BIN 1.D.07 PhD Students Special Issue: Title and storyline discussion
Mon, 08.02.2016 BIN 1.D.07 PhD Students Special Issue: Abstract discussion
Mon, 21.03.2016 BIN 1.D.07 Timo Mennle Measuring Strategic Complexity of Mechanisms with an Application to Matching
Mon, 11.04.2016 BIN 1.D.07 Gianluca Brero Design of Combinatorial Auctions Using Machine Learning-Based Bidding (brainstorming session)
Wed, 27.04.2016 10:00 BIN 1.D.07 Ludwig Dierks Increasing the Efficiency of Cloud Markets (preliminary results)
Mon, 02.05.2016 BIN 1.D.07 Steffen Schuldenzucker How many banks do you need to multiply two numbers? (first results and discussion)
Mon, 30.05.2016 BIN 1.D.07 Dr. Bary Pradelski,
ETH Zürich
The assignment game: Decentralized dynamics, rate of convergence, and equitable core selection
Mon, 06.06.2016 BIN 1.D.07 Dr. Ian Kash,
Microsoft Research UK
Work in Progress on Cloud Pricing
Mon, 13.06.2016 BIN 1.D.07 Timo Mennle The Pareto Frontier for Random Mechanisms(Practice Talk for SCW Presentation)
Wed, 22.06.2016, 14:00 BIN 1.D.07 Steffen Schuldenzucker Two talks on the structure of financial derivatives(practice talks for EC and LOFT)
Mon, 27.06.2016 BIN 1.D.07 Dmitry Moor Core-Selecting Payment Rules for Combinatorial Auctions with Uncertain Availability of Goods (practice talk)
Thu, 21.07.2016, 14:00 BIN 1.D.07 Ludwig Dierks Increasing the Efficiency of Cloud Markets