Mission

Mission Statement of the Department of Informatics (IfI)

Shaping a People-Oriented Digital World

A new world

The advent and use of computers have fundamentally transformed the world in which we interact, work, and live. The interleaving of the physical and the digital is transforming the human condition, driving science and engineering, necessitating new means for economic interactions, and opening new avenues for data collection, storage, and analysis.

What we are

The Department of Informatics (Institut für Informatik, IfI) is embracing this transformation. We are a leading department whose scope extends beyond classical computer science to a new domain that focuses on both computing and human aspects.

IfI is at the forefront of understanding and shaping effective solutions to major challenges that humans face in a digital world today – solutions that satisfy human needs, are economically efficient and reflect socially and environmentally responsible behavior.

We address topics such as the aging society, privacy and value creation in a digital age, corpo- rate and societal innovation, and sustainable development as well as the underlying technical challenges of building and understanding large-scale, software-based systems. Our research results contribute to building a society which is sustainable, prosperous, and worth living in.

Research

IfI’s research concentrates on the areas of People-Oriented Computing, Computing and Economics, and Big Data Analytics for Economics and the Sciences. Our research results in world-class publications as well as in innovations that help people solve real world problems.

Teaching

Our academic programs reflect the department’s focus by combining a rigorous education in computer science with studies concentrating on people-oriented, real-world topics. We offer an extensive curriculum of courses at both the BSc and MSc levels.

Our graduates achieve academic qualifications meeting highest international standards. At the same time, they are also excellently prepared for professional careers in industry.

Career development

IfI provides resources and opportunities for junior scholars to achieve academic and professional excellence. Our doctoral students and post-docs are highly competitive at top international levels in their research communities and fields of specialization.

Cooperation

IfI cooperates extensively with industrial partners. Collaborative research and transfer projects ensure the real world significance of our research and the transfer of results into practice. Continuing education for professional development contributes to lifelong learning and qualification.

Work environment

IfI is committed to cooperative and transparent leadership. We strive to create a stimulating, performance-oriented work environment in which all members of the department contribute to its success through their unique capabilities and competences.

Leitbild

Die Gestaltung einer menschenzentrierten digitalen Welt

Eine neue Welt

Die Welt, in der wir interagieren, arbeiten und leben, hat sich mit dem Aufkommen und der Nutzung von Computern grundlegend verändert. Die Verschachtelung des Physischen und des Digitalen verändert das menschliche Dasein. Sie treibt Wissenschaft und Technik voran. Sie weckt den Bedarf an neuen wirtschaftlichen Interaktionsmöglichkeiten. Sie eröffnet neue Wege für die Datenerfassung, die Datenspeicherung und die Datenanalyse.

Wer wir sind

Das Institut für Informatik (IfI) stellt sich diesem Wandel. Wir sind ein führendes Institut, dessen Wirkungsfeld über die klassische Informatik hinaus geht. Das neue Wirkungsfeld umfasst sowohl die Computerwissenschaft als auch menschliche Aspekte.
Das IfI nimmt eine Spitzenposition ein beim Verstehen und Gestalten effektiver Lösungen für die grossen Herausforderungen der heutigen digitalen Welt. Lösungen, die menschliche Bedürfnisse erfüllen, wirtschaftlich effizient sind und ausserdem ein sozialverantwortliches und ökologisches Verhalten widerspiegeln.
Wir untersuchen verschiedene Fragestellungen wie die alternde Gesellschaft, Datenschutz und Wertschöpfung in einer digitalen Welt, Innovationen in Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft sowie nachhaltige Entwicklung. Ebenso beschäftigen wir uns mit den technischen Herausforderungen, die mit dem Erstellen und Verstehen grosser, softwarebasierter Systeme verbunden sind. Unsere Forschungsergebnisse tragen dazu bei, eine nachhaltige, wohlhabende und lebenswerte Gesellschaft aufzubauen. 

Forschung

Die Forschungsschwerpunkte am IfI sind menschenzentrierte Informatik, Informatik und Ökonomik sowie die Analyse grosser Datenmengen in der Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft. Unsere Forschung zeigt sich in erstklassigen Publikationen und Innovationen, die den Menschen helfen, konkrete Weltprobleme zu lösen.

Lehre

Unser Studienangebot widerspiegelt den Instituts-Fokus: Das fundierte Informatikstudium wird mit menschenzentrierten, praxisbezogenen Themen kombiniert. Auf Bachelorstufe wie auf Masterstufe bieten wir ein umfangreiches Lehrangebot an.
Die akademischen Qualifikationen unserer Absolventen erfüllen die höchsten internationalen Standards. Ausserdem sind unsere Absolventen bestens vorbereitet für eine berufliche Laufbahn in der Industrie.

Nachwuchsförderung

Das IfI bietet dem wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs die nötigen Ressourcen und Möglichkeiten, um akademische und fachliche Spitzenleistung zu erreichen. Unsere Doktoranden und Post-Doktoranden sind auf internationalem Spitzenniveau hoch kompetitiv in ihren Forschungscommunities und Spezialisierungen.

Kooperation

Das IfI pflegt weitreichende Kooperationen mit Partnern aus der Industrie. Die gesellschaftliche Relevanz unserer Forschung sowie der Transfer der Ergebnisse in die Praxis wird gewährleistet durch Forschungskooperationen und Transferprojekte. Weiterbildung und berufliche Entwicklung tragen bei zu lebenslangem Lernen und zur Qualifizierung.

Arbeitsumfeld

Das IfI lebt einen kooperativen und transparenten Führungsstil. Es ist uns wichtig, ein anregendes und leistungsorientiertes Arbeitsumfeld zu schaffen. Denn alle Institutsmitarbeitenden sollen mit ihren ausserordentlichen Fähigkeiten und Kompetenzen zum Erfolg des Instituts beitragen.